Register to Receive Email Phone: 215 348 4586       Fax: 215 348 5953       Email:

Public Safety Committee

Meeting Time

The Committee meets the fourth Wednesday of each month at 7:00 PM in Burkart Hall at 56 Keeley Avenue.

Committee Members

Council Liaison:  James Donovan
Council Liaison:  Steve Ascher
Resident Members:
David Gallant (2022)
William Schaefer (2022)
Janice Kimenhour (2023)
Vacant (2023)
Jo Schuler (2024)

Representatives From:
Central Bucks Regional Police
Chalfont Fire Company
Doylestown Fire Company
Chalfont EMS
Central Bucks EMS

Agenda and Minutes


The Public Safety Committee shall be comprised of seven persons who shall be appointed to the committee by the Council.  Of the seven persons assigned to the committee, two shall be Borough Council Members (or the Mayor).  One of the seven persons will be appointed by the committee to serve as chair.  A quorum of four persons minimum is needed to hold a meeting.

Committee Responsibilities

  • The Committee shall be responsible to assess and make recommendations to Council, as needed, on issues which affect public safety.
  • The Committee shall be responsible for addressing concerns related to traffic or parking management that are  not handled as routine operational matters by Borough Administration.
  • The Committee shall address any concerns which the police, fire department, ambulance, or emergency management agencies feel affect protection or safety of the citizens of the Borough.
  • The Committee shall serve as liaison between the residents, businesses, and Borough Council on matters of public safety.
  • The Committee shall address public safety concerns of normal or urgent priority, but is not responsible for emergency management operations of the Borough.